Lake Maxinkuckee Its Intrigue History & Genealogy Culver, Marshall, Indiana

Daniel McDonald Heritage Award  

Tonight (Oct 4th 2013) at the historic and WPA project biuilding - at the meeting held at the the Argos Izaak Walton League building

I was awarded the Daniel McDonald Heritage Award - Daniel McDonald is recognized as the most influential historian of Marshall County and was a resident of Marshall county Indiana, a Lake Maxinkuckee cottage owner, he was the author of the Marshall county Histories, Lake History, the Menominee band of American Indians, and Free Masonry in Indian, plus several other books including ones on the Indians; an Indiana State representative from Marshall county; and also was responsible for the erection of the Potawatomie Indian Chief Menominee Monument at Twins Lakes, Marshall county, Indiana in his honor - Menominee was among other Indians of Marshall, Fulton counties and northern Indiana were forced into that deplorable march westward know as the "Trail of Death

The McDonald presentations are made annually to individuals, organizations, and communities who have made extraordinary contributions in the practice of historic preservation in Marshall County. Among the other reciepents were:

  • LaPaz Lions Club
    • Under took the purchasing and installing of about 74 Indiana Cemetery Heritage Signs around Marshall county; Don Balka accepting on behalf of the LaPaz Lions Club,
  • Phil Wiegand
    • Eagle Scout prpoject of Restoration of to Fair Cemetery stones and the erection of a flagpole.
  • Louis Flora
    • Historian; research at the Marshall County Historical Society; a 2 volume book of information on the B & O Depot of Bremen; contribution to the county’s recorded history in the German Township & a compilation of information regarding Marshall County’s Federal Relief programs of the 1930s.
  • Frst Presbyterian Church - Plymouth
    • was also recognized for its 175th year in the community; Pastor Jean Sparks and Penny Lukenbill accepting on behalf of the First Presbyterian Church.

    I was nominated by Wythoughan member and Culver resident Frederick Karst and he also presented the award to me at the meeting thank you to Wythougan for the honor of the award.

    Now for the award - it reads:

    Wythougan Valley

    Preservation Council, Inc.

    Presents the

    Daniel McDonald Heritage Award


    Ms. Judith E Burns

    For Her exceptional work in the documenting and preserving much of

    the Culver community's history.
    (picture of the welcome sign at St. Rd. 10 & 17 north entrance into Culver)

    Her contribution is important to our collective

    Marshall County heritage and for succeeding generations as the

    legacy of our forefathers continues into the future.

    Presented this 4th Day of October, 2103

    Kurt W. Garner, President

    Wythougan Valley Preservation Council, Inc.
    2013 Officers:
    Kurt W. Garner of North Township,was the Founder (1999) & President (2009-?, Wythougan Valley Preservation Council , Inc.

    RT Henke of Bremen and Mary Ann Norris of North Township - co-Vice-Presidents.

    Karin Rettinger of Bourbon - elected Secretary-Treasurer

    Board Members: Lyn Ward, Frederick Karst...